+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52

Thread: Xcal2 What is it

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SE / CLT,NC / ATL,GA
    Posts
    1,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray View Post
    Who knows... all I know is that on THIS forum, you won't hear about it... period.

    We (CEG, the site, admins/mods and community as a whole) don't support, allow, or promote any form of piracy, nor the discussion of the aforementioned actions or ideas. Its illegal, and this is something our site wants nothing to do with. We present ourselves to the internet-as-a-whole as a respectable, family oriented site. It will remain that way for the foreseeable future.

    I'm sure there's a way (there's a way for ANYTHING, right?) and maybe even that its been done... but the bottom line is: you won't learn about it, or hear about it on these forums.
    well that reply falls into the category of fascism, but since the interwebs seem to follow some level of fascist legislation, I'll subside here.

    so what are my options in the circumstance that I cannot find a way to reflash my Xcal? I'd rather be able to drive my vehicle to a dyno without worrying that it will explode by the time I make it there.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Humble
    Posts
    10,828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KAOS_2.5M View Post
    well that reply falls into the category of fascism, but since the interwebs seem to follow some level of fascist legislation, I'll subside here.

    so what are my options in the circumstance that I cannot find a way to reflash my Xcal? I'd rather be able to drive my vehicle to a dyno without worrying that it will explode by the time I make it there.
    fascism: A system of government marked by centralization of authority under a dictator, [etc]


    Have you looked around? This is a PRIVATELY HELD SITE, with a CENTRAL owner who dictates the rules. Wow.. I'm glad you posted those high school scores, or I'd think you accidentally stumbled on to being correct...


    Your options:
    with a 3L? it will run fine untuned.. just drive it there.
    boosted?

    unhook the inlet/turbo and run it NA, but with the turbo piping installed so you can drive to the dyno.
    .99 Silverfrost
    Call me for free, if you need any help or anything.
    |_|0|_|
    |_|_|0|
    |0|0|0|

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    3,555

    Default

    I recently rode along with a friend who flashed his Speed3 and it gave him several base tune options such as Economy, Sport 1 and Sport 2. Does the Xcal offer several base tunes as well or is it like other tuners I've seen where it just goes through some yes/no questions?
    2000 "Amazon" Tropic Green CSVT #836/2150

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Humble
    Posts
    10,828

    Default

    it isn't a user-based tuner.

    it is a completely custom tune based on datalogging the car (either on a dyno, or via a laptop running in the car while driving.

    This isn't a "yes/no" basic system.
    .99 Silverfrost
    Call me for free, if you need any help or anything.
    |_|0|_|
    |_|_|0|
    |0|0|0|

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    3,555

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray View Post
    it isn't a user-based tuner.

    it is a completely custom tune based on datalogging the car (either on a dyno, or via a laptop running in the car while driving.

    This isn't a "yes/no" basic system.
    Gotcha. When they say its user adjustable I assumed it was like the other yes/no user based tuners.
    2000 "Amazon" Tropic Green CSVT #836/2150

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gales Ferry, CT
    Posts
    24,931
    Blog Entries
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dyoel182 View Post
    Gotcha. When they say its user adjustable I assumed it was like the other yes/no user based tuners.

    sort of, with the xcal2 you can adjust a few parameters when you upload the tune. you can adjust spark, wot fuel, tire size, low and high speed fan turn on temps, etc
    - 12 Focus SE
    - 95 Mystique LS <-sold
    - 99 Contour SE Sport <- traded in 2/13
    - 99 Contour SeVT <- 3L/NPG Turbo
    - 2k Contour SVT - #2137

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Humble
    Posts
    10,828

    Default

    and with just the basic XCAL2, when BrApple mentions "spark" or "wot fuel" its not 100% adjustability.. its a percentage of variation FROM the tune that was created for you via a dyno shop, etc..

    You can add 3 degrees timing, for example, but its a GLOBAL change.. all changes are global changes for that area. Spark timing is global (xdegrees) across the BOARD.. not at a certain RPM... so.. even though you COULD use another degree or two of advanced timing in the lower band, you may have already been on the ragged edge of the limit at the rev-limit, and it will still add the same 3 degrees at the top, too, causing problems at redline, etc.

    This is an example of how you "can" adjust things, but not with any amount of precision..

    This is not to take away from the Xcal or what IT can do.. I am just describing what the USER can do.. an XCAL in the hands of a PRP owner who is ALSO a knowledgeable person on this platform can adjust ANYTHING they want in ANY way shape or form..
    .99 Silverfrost
    Call me for free, if you need any help or anything.
    |_|0|_|
    |_|_|0|
    |0|0|0|

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    lancaster PA
    Posts
    2,590

    Default

    so if i want to tune my se with the svt cams and such.

    then want to tune the svt to run the 3l and whatever else i need to buy 2 xcals correct.

    wish if you purchased the PRP it would let you unlock it. or let you store 2-5 tunes on the xcal
    Clear/Smoked Reflector GB is on hold. bigger things are happening. Hint they are used a night so you can see

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gales Ferry, CT
    Posts
    24,931
    Blog Entries
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yamaha racer 686 View Post
    so if i want to tune my se with the svt cams and such.

    then want to tune the svt to run the 3l and whatever else i need to buy 2 xcals correct.

    wish if you purchased the PRP it would let you unlock it. or let you store 2-5 tunes on the xcal

    no all you would need is a new tune to down load to the pcm ... the xcal2 can hold 3 tunes as well as the stock tune.
    - 12 Focus SE
    - 95 Mystique LS <-sold
    - 99 Contour SE Sport <- traded in 2/13
    - 99 Contour SeVT <- 3L/NPG Turbo
    - 2k Contour SVT - #2137

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Humble
    Posts
    10,828

    Default

    ONE XCAL can tune ANY number of vehicles... just NOT at the SAME time.
    If you buy an XCAL you can tune your SE for the SVT bits. When you load a tune to the SE, it puts the XCAL in to a locked mode (you can't tune another vehicle right now with it), then if you want to tune the SVT you have to REVERT the SE back to a stock tune ("unload" the tune you made) and this process puts the XCAL back in to an open mode which can be used on any car (namely, your SVT)

    no big deal if you don't mind plugging the XCAL in to the car you decide to drive and reload the tune each time you switch cars. If you want BOTH to be tuned at the SAME TIME... you need TWO Xcal units.
    .99 Silverfrost
    Call me for free, if you need any help or anything.
    |_|0|_|
    |_|_|0|
    |0|0|0|

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts