• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Alternator

Rick

CEG'er
I think my alternator (or the regulator) is toast on my 98 Contour SVT. I have been driving around for a few months with a coroded positive cable at the battery post (2nd battery since car was new). A few nights ago during my 45 mile commute home in the dark the charging indicator lit up. No drama but it was something I have never seen before as this car has been rock solid for 12 years. I got home, cleaned the cable connection and after restarting the the light remained off. 4 days later it came on again.
How long does it take to change an alternator, how difficult is it on a 1-10 scale (10 being the most difficult).

Thoughts........Suggestions

Rick

PS Could a bad battery be the issue? It was 12.2V this morning before starting and while running at fast idle (before warming up) dropped to 11.6 volts; this is without any accessories on.

Take me back to the days when you could see the ground when you opened the hood!

for a beginner, i'd say its probably a 6. alternators aren't terrible to do. you just have to figure out the correct lengths of extensions and swivels. it can definitely be a HUGE headache without the proper tools

I love working on cars. Especially mine. But I paid someone to change my alt $300 total including labor and part. I just change my Alternator output cable to 1/0 AWG and just doing that was a pain in the a**. Now imagine changing the entire thing. It's in such a bad spot I want to move it to the top somehow. some kind of bracket and pulley or belt system. I don't know but it is not easy!!