• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

My first 3L swap....

ttuspaniard

New CEG'er
Hey guys I just bought an 04 3L from a sable for 400 bucks with 30K miles...

I have a 1999 Cougar with a blown head gasket on the 2.5...

This is my first time so from reading around I think a full swap is the easyest and cheapest route to go for me...????

So I Started the tear down process this week end and I have a few questions...

1- I noticeed the fuel rail delivery system on the 2.5 has an "in" and an "out" routes where the 3L only has a single "in" tube....what do I need to use or do ???

2- What do I do about eh EGR valve...can I use the one of the 2.5L or a mix and match??

3- is the full swap the easyest and cheapest way to go...

Thanks guys...I ll out some pics of the tear down progress tonite!

Hey guys I just bought an 04 3L from a sable for 400 bucks with 30K miles...

I have a 1999 Cougar with a blown head gasket on the 2.5...

This is my first time so from reading around I think a full swap is the easyest and cheapest route to go for me...????

So I Started the tear down process this week end and I have a few questions...

1- I noticeed the fuel rail delivery system on the 2.5 has an "in" and an "out" routes where the 3L only has a single "in" tube....what do I need to use or do ???

2- What do I do about eh EGR valve...can I use the one of the 2.5L or a mix and match??

3- is the full swap the easyest and cheapest way to go...

Thanks guys...I ll out some pics of the tear down progress tonite!

Search Search Search.

But to help your questions:
1. You have a return style fuel rail, the 3.0L is a returnless. Get this
http://www.nautilusperformance.com/catalog/i29.html

2. Delete the EGR

3. How good are you at doing this?