• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

a little help

Redeemer

Veteran CEG'er
ok I'm not sure on this but I figured id ask, ok when i start my car i hear something that sounds like a vacuum or some sort of blowing noise, then when in park my car sounds like its gonna stall out. I thought it could be a loose vacuum hose somewhere. But im not sure where. Yes i am still new to working on my car so a little help would be great. Pre-thanks.

With the engine running open the hood and listen for the "vacuum" noise, obviously be careful of any moving parts (belts, fan etc) when looking under the hood. See if you can determine where the noise is coming from exactly, or at least let us know approximately where it is coming from (drivers side, pass. side, front, rear...etc.). Check all your vacuum lines, there should be a vacuum line diagram on the underside of the hood, and then let us know.

I had the same problem. Check the vacuum hose on the back right side of the engine about half way done the back. Its a S shaped hose.

This is what mine looked like:

checkhere.jpg

Check halfway down the back of the engine right below this spot.

Hope this helps.

-Jared

Jared you are probably right. I had the same problem with my 2000 SE. The vacuum hose you are talking about comes from the bottom of the intake manifold and connects to the PCV Valve tube. Mine looked just like that too! Do you have any codes/Check engine light to go along with the symptoms??

Jared just want ya to know YOU ARE THE MAN!!! lol thanks thats exactly what it was. now I've got no more annoying vacuum noises. Thanks again.

Had a check engine light not really sure how to check for codes quite yet lol

..Had a check engine light not really sure how to check for codes quite yet lol