• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Zetec Alternator

protege_chris

CEG'er
Is there a how-to around here anywhere for pulling the alternator on the zetec (I havea 95). It's been sitting for three months, and I want to fix it.

Local JY has a 95 with 33,000 miles, so I can pull one from there. just not sure how to get it out the simplest way

Huge black thing? I think you speak of the air intake plenum. Just take it off, but don't drop anything in the throttle body :laugh: haha.

I've had that plenum off for 3 months.. haha.

I meant the black steel piece that is on the passenger side of the motor right above everything I need to get to, with the large arse bolts.

um..i have seen some of the earlier models with a massive t shapped engine mount, this may be what he is refering to....OP post pics so people don't think you are a complete noob.....or mabey post pics to comfirm that you are, whatever the situation:shrug:

on my tempo i had to remove th mount for some repairs, i was able to use a board between the jack and oil pan and jacked the engine up to remove the mount....please note this does not work on all vehicles!! i don't wanna be responsible for holes in oil pans!!..use common sence!

Huge black thing? I think you speak of the air intake plenum. Just take it off, but don't drop anything in the throttle body :laugh: haha.

:p HAHA!! told ya so!!

that is a freaky motor mount....hang on i'll go look at my 95 to see what kind it has...mabey i can help :shrug:

Yes that is the motor mount. Place a piece of 2x4 up against the bottom of the engine and hold it up with a jack. Remove the motor mount, but be prepared to break a bolt/nut or two. I would recommend having a couple handy.