• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Mondeo Lower Control Arms

Heywood

Hard-core CEG'er
Just wanted to bring this thread over from the old forums. I will be needing (probably already need) to replace my LCA's and I was very interested in these. One thing that I wondered while looking back over the old posts was this: Since the poly bushings are replacable, could you replace them with rubber bushings if the poly turns out to be too harsh? This would address the concerns raised by Rara and others. I can't profess to be anything but a complete noob on the topic so please don't rip my head off if this is a stupid suggestion.

manufacturer link: http://www.deflex.co.uk/cgi-bin/deflexshop/deflexshop.cgi

original thread: http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/s...er=1239510&page=&view=&sb=5&o=&fpart=all&vc=1

Just so everyone know, the Cougar and Contour use the same arm no matter if it's the 2 bolt or 4 bolt design. There is no difference in the bushings or anything else for that matter.

Let me state this very clearly.

When you normally upgrade a bushing, you use a harder material that comprimised NVH for better wheel path control and responsiveness. This does not work with a compliance bushing like the 2-bolters. The poly bushings you show are designed to allow rotation about the axis of the bushing hole. They WILL NOT work in an application like the two-bolt arms - you NEED soft rubber to allow the arms to move freely. This means you get change in alignment specs under load, and quickly worn-out bushings. You can weld Heim joints to the arms or use tubular arms with Heim joints in them, since they can be oriented correctly. You can't use poly.

Rubber or solid, those are your options. There is no benifit, only negatives, from poly bushings in a two-bolt.