• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

PCV hose

kw8z3boi

Veteran CEG'er
So I went to get my smog today with the state referee and they didn't passed me because of the PCV hose. They told me to changed so I went to the dealership and got it for $24.05. So my question is should i change it on my own or take it to a shop? How easy it is to change it?

Ok I'm a noob ... now I don't know what that is ... I thought you mean the valve cover ... Is the PCV hose pink/red?

The PCV hose is black and goes under the thermostat and spark plug coil housings. It's pretty easy to change,the hard part is taking out all the radiator hoses(yeah you have to drain the coolant.)
Good luck

oh. What's the red/pink hose for? I need to change that hose because they won't let me pass smog.
I think we need a picture to see what hose you are talking about as there is no red/pink hose in the stock zetec engine bay.

Photo-0667.jpg

See the red hose?

if you follow that hose under the coilpack and to the front of the car it will go behind the exhaust manifold. thats where the PCV valve is located at.

I'm thinking of going to the junk yard to get one soon. Should it be easy to take it out and put it in? I found it that it won't pass smog because that is just a regular hose, so when it goes 90 degree the hose bend and air won't go through

I found out what hose already. Base on the smog place ... they said is the hose that is from the manifold to the PCV. So I got that hose at the junkyard. Luckily there was a lot of space for me to remove the hose. So today I tried change it ... not luck because I was hard to remove the hose. So any suggestion?

You bought a used hose?

Now I'm cheap, but dude come on, a used hose?