• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

inner and outer tire wear

zetec herman

CEG'er
Sorry, i don't know if this should be here, in wheel and tires, or suspension.

My tour has excessive tire wear on the inner and outer edge of both front tires. I know the car could use an alignment but I get the feeling that something might be giving away in the suspension. When ever I get up to a speed of 40-45 mph I sort of get a drowning noise. At first I thought it sounded like a wheel bearing but I think bearings would get louder as you increase speed. I know I should check the ball joints and tie rods. I'm also wondering if the noise could be due to the tires wearing down.

Anyone have any other suggestions of stuff to look for? Everything looks ok underneath, but I'm not an expert. With 109K on the stock suspension, stuff may need replacing.

I work at a Ford dealer, they will do an alignment on my car for free.

TIA

sometimes if you are low on air...the outsides wear because the inside is pushed up into the tire.

...My tour has excessive tire wear on the inner and outer edge of both front tires. I know the car could use an alignment but I get the feeling that something might be giving away in the suspension. When ever I get up to a speed of 40-45 mph I sort of get a drowning noise. At first I thought it sounded like a wheel bearing but I think bearings would get louder as you increase speed. I know I should check the ball joints and tie rods. I'm also wondering if the noise could be due to the tires wearing down.

Anyone have any other suggestions of stuff to look for? Everything looks ok underneath, but I'm not an expert. With 109K on the stock suspension, stuff may need replacing.

I work at a Ford dealer, they will do an alignment on my car for free.

TIA