• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Should I get a timing kit or just try to retension my timing belt?

99Mystique ATX

Hard-core CEG'er
Alright guys, i'm fairly new to the zetec and haven't seen this issue, maybe i'm not searching for the right thing.

When I bought the car there was a tapping sound coming from the timing belt area. Upon a further inspection today when I had the car in the garage and removed the timing belt cover, I noticed that the belt didn't seem to be tensioned properly. There was quite a bit of slack in the belt itself. If I apply pressure to the belt with the car running it stops this tapping sound.

What i'm wondering is if I can just retension it or if I need to buy a the timing kit and replace the belt and everything. The belt itself looked to be in pretty good condition. I really don't want to dump a lot of money into the car right now until I know I have all the issues worked out and it's going to be a good reliable car.

Thoughts?

Gah, it is highly possible the last time the belt was replaced, that, well, ONLY the belt was replaced. To be on the safe side I would buy a whole new kit if I were you, and if it is feasible in terms of money. The Gates kit (can be had for a decent price from Rockauto, plus with the discount posted in General Discussions!) has been reliable for people.

If the timing belt has never been changed before you should definitely get a whole timing kit. From Rockauto.com they are $91 IIRC, TCK294 (2 idlers) or TCK294A (late model (1 idler)).

if you are going to go into the timing cover just get a kit and replace everything. the belts normally stand up pretty well, its the pullies that will fail. so make sure you change them.

also its normal for the belt to slap the timing belt cover. use some washers to space it out and you will be all set.