• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

electric supercharger

MadDog

Veteran CEG'er
Since I started reading on forced induction, I found the concept of the electric supercharger to be interesting. After doing a lot of reading, it becomes obvious that the vast majority of "e-turbos" are total crap (like you find on Ebay).

About a year ago, I found an interesting page on GA Projects that claims to have plans for a home-built electric supercharger that delivers actual boost:

http://gaprojects.com/supercharger/supercharger.htm

Given the in-depth examination of the issues around forced induction, I found the GA Projects site to be believable, although I have no practical experience.

More recently, I found another web page, "Wild Weasels" auto page,

http://www.wildweasel.ca/HowTo/Auto/eturbo.aspx

that until not long ago, was another long discussion on why the available "e-turbos" were total snake oil. However, in the last 6 months or so, it looks like he actually found and tested a real live electric supercharger that is within the range of the hobbyist.

http://www.wildweasel.ca/HowTo/Auto/eturboTest.aspx

Apparently, this place sells kits, or will soon sell kits:

http://www.phantomsuperchargers.com/index.html

While I have zero practical experience with this, I thought it would be interesting to mention it and see if anyone has any thoughts on the validity of the Phantom supercharger device.

Mad Dog

Hey Mad Dog; I read the phantom supercharger site and it claims a non parasitic system.