• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Best exhaust setup for drag racing.

95_Mystique

Hard-core CEG'er
I have a spare SVT exhaust sitting in my basement that i'm planning on cutting up to make a drag racing exhaust for the car. My question is, is it best to go with straight pipes, or should i have some backpressure?

Engine/trans info: 3L Hybrid, SVT cams, optimized Y pipe, AEM intake, MSDS headers and Y pipe, UDPs, Torsen.

I was thinking of using a glasspack inplace of the resonator, and straight pipes the rest of the way. Should i run a chambered muffler instead?

open headers (or maybe open y-pipe with a turn down). back pressure=bad. another option would be to take the stock exhaust and weld in an electric cutout where the CAT would be (or before). then you close the cutout for daily driving, and open it at the track.

I'm no expert, but I'd always heard that some (albeit minimal) backpressure was beneficial on naturally aspirated cars. I never researched it much because most of my cars have been turbocharged.

I'm no expert, but I'd always heard that some (albeit minimal) backpressure was beneficial on naturally aspirated cars. I never researched it much because most of my cars have been turbocharged.

Simply having an exhaust manifold creates more "backpressure" than you'll ever need.

no exhaust

This. You need about 12" of pipe from the exhaust port to keep oxygen from backfeeding into your exhaust valves, which would be what catalyzes the heat and burns up the valves. Like Andy said, just the stock gutted manifolds would be way more back pressure than you need. Look at all the race cars and drag cars....12" of pipe and no exhaust.

well i do have headers, so i guess i'll be doing straight pipes then. I do want to keep an exhaust on the car so i can drive it to the drag strip and not get high on fumes.